The Status of the Water Supply and Sanitation Infrastructure in the Kraśnik County
More details
Hide details
University of Life Sciences in Lublin, ul. Akademicka 13, 20-950 Lublin, Poland
Publication date: 2020-05-01
Corresponding author
Magdalena Gizińska-Górna   

University of Life Sciences in Lublin, ul. Akademicka 13, 20-950 Lublin, Poland
J. Ecol. Eng. 2020; 21(4):168-177
ABSTRACT The paper describes the status of water supply and sanitation infrastructure in the Kraśnik County. The description is based on the official statistical data and the data obtained in a survey carried out in 2016. The Kraśnik County is located in the Lublin Province and comprises 10 communes: one urban commune (the Municipality of Kraśnik), two urban-rural communes (Annopol and Urzędów), and seven rural communes (Dzierzkowice, Gościeradów, Kraśnik, Szastarka, Trzydnik Duży, Wilkołaz, and Zakrzówek). In 2016, an average of 90.9% of the County's inhabitants had the access to the mains water, but only 13.5% were connected to the mains sewerage. The County has six centralized wastewater treatment plants with a total capacity of approximately 14.164 m3/d. The survey data showed that the records of cesspools were kept in only four of the County's communes: the Municipality of Kraśnik, Urzędów, Wilkołaz, and Zakrzówek. The total number of cesspools in those communes was 4776. The Kraśnik County is in great demand for the construction of on-site domestic wastewater treatment plants, which are an excellent alternative to cesspools. The network of domestic wastewater treatment plants in the Kraśnik County is made up almost entirely of systems with a drainfield, which may pose a serious threat to the soil and water environment. The results of the present study suggest that Commune Offices must take decisive steps to eliminate the existing disproportion between the coverages of the sewerage and water supply systems in the County's communes.
Journals System - logo
Scroll to top